Katie J's Journal

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Been a tough day in ways… August 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — The McKinney Family @ 7:47 pm

This morning, Gabi woke up at 5:30, ready to go.  She also woke Sarah up.  So I went to try to get Gabi back to sleep in her bed while James worked on getting Sarah to sleep in our bed.  After maybe 40 minutes of no success on my part, I took Gabi to the couch to try.  Another 10 minutes and I had had it, so I reluctantly put on “Baby Deer” and tried to get Gabs to calm down.  Well, she wouldn’t.  She was ready for her day.  Eventually I must have dozed off through her commenting on every part of the movie and climbing all over me.  I woke to James fussing because he had gotten up at 7 and she was in the bathroom, with a whole roll of toilet paper wasted.  (Thankfully the toilet wasn’t stopped up.)  Fast forward to nap time…

After a tough morning where Gabi and Evan’s speech teacher came and she was too tired to focus much (Gabi, not the teacher :)), we ate a quick lunch and settled down for a slightly early nap.  Gabi fell asleep immediately as I knew she would.  However, to my dismay, she woke up after a measley 45 minutes, crying loudly.  I took her from her bed to mine in hopes that she would go back to sleep and not wake Sarah up.  After 20 minutes of loud crying with her eyes shut the entire time, Sarah did wake up.  So I brought Sarah to bed, too, where she fell asleep immediately.  Gabi, however continued to cry for over an hour.  When she finally woke up, she was (and still is) in an awful mood.  (I know that this seems like I’m not going anywhere, but I am.) 

I left the kiddos (well, the 3 happy ones) with Christopher while I came to the computer to look up Fetal Alcohol Syndrome/Effect and sleep disorders.  For those of you who don’t know, we have had Gabi as a foster child since she was 5 days old and finally (praise the Lord!) adopted her last December.  She was born 6 weeks early weighing 4lb 11oz.  Her mother repeatedly took various drugs and drank large doses of alcohol during her pregnancy.  This is just the very, very short version of her story.  Anyhow, while searching for information on what to do about sleep (most FAS children have some kind of sleep disorder- Gabi has been waking up several times in the middle of the night since she was born.  (Well, except when she was really tiny, in which case she was still so drugged that we had a hard time waking her up.)  I can’t tell you the last time she (or we) slept through the night.  I found a great, but very sad and (for us) very scary article about FAS.  I’m attaching the link for you to read if you chose.  (If nothing else, it will give you a broader view of the world.)  Most importantly, if you have a friend or family member with a child with FAS, this will help you to understand that there are things about these precious children that we cannot control.  Yes, they will misbehave in public.  Yes, we will often ignore them because we know that their reasoning skills are so poor that to try is to dig a hole that we may not be able to get out of at that moment.  Yes, these are the children that, if your children go to public school, will bite, hit, take toys away from, and cause turmoil for your child.  We know this (as parents) and we’re sad, but there’s not much we can do.  (Except, in our case, homeschool.)  It’s hard to look into the future and read these statistics about what will happen to our daughter if we don’t pray really really hard and find ways to help her cope.  So, I could write a lot more.  But, I’m going to stop now and just give you the link.  If nothing else it’s an interesting read. 

www.faslink.org/fasmain.htm

 

One Response to “Been a tough day in ways…”

  1. Whitney Says:

    Tried the link, not working. Will pray that you all get a restful night tonight… 😦


Leave a Reply

