Katie J's Journal

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I never expected THIS! August 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — The McKinney Family @ 9:07 pm

Okay, so I’m going to type fast and may make mistakes b/c the kids are happy and you never know how long that’s gonna last!  Anyhow, our Early Interventionist, Amanda, who comes weekly to work with Gabi and Evan, told me about one of her other “mothers.”  Apparently this mother, Jamie, has 4 children and is in training to become a doula.  I spoke with James this weekend and told him that I felt like we should meet her and just talk with her.  I’m thinking that, if I get a chance to pursue a natural childbirth, it would be very helpful to have someone in the room who has actually done it- 4 times.  Almost more importantly, I think it’s important that we have an advocate so that when the doctor (possibly) starts pushing a repeat cesarian, we can at least fight it.  (Not to the extent that we would endanger Matthew or myself, but just as much as possible because we know a vaginal birth, in most cases, is so much healthier for us both.)  I know, I know… I’m flying through this.  Anyhow, I called Jamie today to talk to her and see about meeting her.  After talking about the possibility of preeclampsia (and her being very supportive) she mentioned breastfeeding.  I said, “Well, not that I’m not a difficult enough case, but I have something called Tubular Breast Syndrome, that is probably going to complicate things… have you ever heard of that?”  You know what she said?????  SHE HAS TUBULAR BREASTS!!!!  Crazy, I know… I can hardly believe it myself!  She chose to let her children just nurse for comfort instead of feeding, but she has used the SNS some and is totally supportive if that’s what I choose to do.  And she can help me learn to use it!  Wow- if this wasn’t God-ordained, then I don’t know what is.  I wish I could expound on this- I really wanted to call my sister (Hi Whitney) but Gabi has been in a “messing” mood all day after being up from 12:45 to 4:30 am, so I have to get back in there before the house is on fire.  (And that’s only sort of a joke!)  So here it is, for y’all to enjoy with me.  “My God is so great, so strong, and so mighty, there’s nothing my God cannot do!” 🙂

 

One Response to “I never expected THIS!”

  1. Whitney Says:

    Hey… awesome!!! It is great to have someone who is supportive of your choices in the delivery room… I had a nurse like that with Rachel. Of course, with Eli, I was on pitocin AGAIN, and completely aware that it involved an epidural for me! 🙂
    Amazing that she will be able to help with your specific case issues! 🙂


Leave a Reply

