Katie J's Journal

Just another WordPress.com weblog

They’re coming! September 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — The McKinney Family @ 8:07 pm

I just got an email from UPS saying that our order from Green Mountain Diapers is on it’s way and should be here Friday!  James and I got online last night and ordered enough for us to cloth diaper full time (we hope.)  It’s definitely not so much that we may never run out if someone is pooping a lot or has several “accidents” that sneak out of the diaper, but it’s enough that I can do laundry every other day instead of every day.  (Though I like doing it enough that I don’t mind doing it every day; it just isn’t practical on some days.)  Here’s what we ordered:

-One Thirsties Duowrap size 2 for the “big boys” (we already have 3 mediums that fit them well in the original Thirsties, so this will give us 2 each.  The wonderful thing about Thirsties is the the waterproof liner, or PUL, is on the inside as well as the outside, so you can wipe them or rinse them clean in between washes, which is better for their wear anyhow.)  We got a storm cloud as we already have 2 whites and an ocean blue.  I like white as far as how they look and show less under clothes, but they seem to look more dingy the closer they get to needing to be washed.  Some people can go a week before they wash their covers, but we can probably only go 2 or maybe 4 days because of the amount of children we have using the covers!

-Two Thirsties Duowrap size 1 for baby Matthew. (One is ocean blue and one is storm cloud- I also really like the meadow, and wish that they had the Duowrap in “butter” but they only have it in their original for now… maybe later?)

-A dozen indian prefolds in the x-large size.  (We have 2 dozen already in the large that fit the boys okay, but Evan really could use the x-large, and I think they would be better for Naaman at night.)

-2 dozen indian prefolds in small.  (We didn’t get newborn since they outgrow them so fast; we’re just going to make these work.)

-1 dozen preemie indian prefolds to use as “doublers” at night or if they need to be able to go a little longer.  This is what the lady on craigslist used and they’ve worked fine for us.  I’d be interested in trying an actual “soaker” later, but for now we’re going for what works as well as what is best financially.  We already have a dozen of these.

-2 more snappies (These are so great!  You use them instead of diaper pins and they’re so much faster and easier.  I feel better, too, that if the kids got a hold of one they wouldn’t get hurt like they could with a pin.)

-A Mommy’s Touch diaper pail liner in butter (you just put it in the wash with your diapers when you wash them… we’ve bought a trash can to use it on that has a foot pedal for hands-free/germs-free, but we’ll have to make sure it fits.)

I know that if you’ve looked at the website, you’re thinking, wow, that’s a lot of money!  And it is… but we spend a minimum of $70 a month on disposable diapers (not counting Matthew!) so we will pay ourselves back in no time and really start racking up the savings!

Well, for those of you who think cloth is crazy, this was probably a very boring post!  But for those of you who use them or who have ever thought of using them, I’m sure you understand my excitement!  I can’t wait to open that box and start washing them (you need to wash them several times before you use them to make them absorbent) and try them on my babies.  And won’t Matthew just look so cute with a bit bubble tushie?  🙂

Last, then I really have to go:  I went to the doctor today and Matthew looked great.  He “waved” at me during the ultrasound and is growing so fast.  My bp is getting high, so they said I’ll probably have to increase my medicine in the next few weeks, but not yet.  I’m not looking forward to that b/c it already makes me kind of sleepy/groggy, but I don’t really have a choice.  I can’t believe that in less than 8 weeks we’ll have our new baby here!  And my sister told me she’ll be 17 weeks tomorrow- I didn’t realize she was that far along!  It’s just going to fast for both of us this time!  Oh, one more thing- my friend Rebecca told me about a website named Above Rubies (.org) that is basically encouragement for Christian women and mothers.  I was able to look at it a little last night and it looks wonderful.  I can’t vouch for all of it yet, but I would encourage you to take a look, too.  I think it’s just what I’ve been looking for in terms of some time for me and the Lord, without doing an overwhelming Bible study.  Anyhow, hope you all have a wonderful day!

 

3 Responses to “They’re coming!”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Hey, I tried to comment on your last post but it wouldn’t go through. Mary uses the bumgenius diapers on Samson and they are so cool! I did the math according to what one friend spends on diapers and figured out that you could save $2000 over the life of the child. That’s a LOT of money! Way to go Kate! 🙂

  2. ajournalforme Says:

    Hey Michelle! I looked at Bumgenius, and they’re very similar to Thirsties, but more expensive. They also appear to only have the PUL on the outside, so you could only use the covers once before you have to wash them, but I’d be interested to know if I was wrong. Maybe you could ask Mary for me? How are you? I missed seeing you a couple of weeks ago- maybe God will space Matthew and the next baby apart so I can feel “normal” for a little while :). We’ll have to see what He has in store for us. I love you and hope you and Stephen are doing well!

  3. Rebecca Says:

    I am so excited for you! Waiting for a diaper stash in the mail is fun but getting it is even better. 🙂 The washing part isn’t delightful but when the are done they sure will be and then, you just get to enjoy the journey.

    Have a great day!

    Rebecca


Leave a Reply

