Katie J's Journal

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Our Sweet Matthew December 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — The McKinney Family @ 11:57 am

Okay, so I’ve been really bad about blogging.  But, this post should explain it all.  Last Thursday I was feeding Matthew about noon.  He hadn’t eaten all morning and looked kind of pale, so I was determined to get him to eat.  After getting him to eat a little bit, I held him up to burp and he projectile-vomited. While I was cleaning that up, he stopped breathing.  It was the scariest thing I had ever seen in my life.  His lips and the area above his lips and around his eyes were blue and the rest of his face was sheet-white.  I stimulated his chest and, praise the Lord, he started breathing on his own.  Jean was here cleaning, so I asked her to stay with the other kids and I threw him in the front seat of the car and flew to the ER.  (Thankfully we’re really close.)  At the ER, they moved really slow at first.  I’m sure they probably thought I was a young mother who was just worried about nothing. At least, they thought that until they saw him stop breathing and turn blue.  After he did it twice in a row in a matter of minutes, the doctor said, “We need to move on this baby,” and they grabbed him and ran him across the ER into a trauma room.  The doctor told me that they were going to transfer him to a larger hospital and they started trying to find veins for an IV.  Poor thing, he has tiny “rolling” veins like me, so they couldn’t find a place.  A few minutes later someone told us the helicopter was there.  They came in and asked questions about his situation, they wheeled him out on a stretcher.  He looked so tiny on that huge thing.  It was an 8-minute flight to the hospital (versus a 30-minute drive).  It was awful seeing him cry the whole way because the helicopter was so loud.  When we got there, he already looked a little better.  (The crying was probably good for his breathing.)  They ended up putting an IV in his head because they couldn’t find a vein anywhere else.  After a couple of hours they moved him up to the PICU.  My parents had been with us all this time (except for that James and they had to drive to the hospital because only one person could fly) but they graciously went home to get the other kids from a friend who was watching them.  Mom called the Kings and they headed to our house to get Naaman.  In the PICU they started tons of tests, including 2 EEGs, an echocardiogram (sp?), and an ultrasound of his head.  While the doctor was examining him they found a heart murmur, but he didn’t feel like it was related to the apnea episodes.  He felt pretty sure that it was reflux.  (I know, I had a hard time believing it, too.)  He said that preemie babies often forget to breath when they vomit.  They close off their airway so that vomit doesn’t get into their lungs, but their brains aren’t developed enough to know that they need to open them to breath.  He put him on Zantac to see what happened.  That evening, I fed him at midnight.  (He was soooo hungry by now because they hadn’t wanted him to eat up to the point in case they had to intibate him.)  Secure in the fact that he was on monitors and had a nurse about 10 steps away, I went to sleep.  I woke up to 3 nurses in the room because he had stopped breathing again.  They put him on an additional medicine and he hasn’t had an episode since.  On Saturday he was discharged with an apnea monitor.  We went to a follow-up appointment on Monday morning and his pediatrician wants him to stay on the monitor for about a month.  She said in about a week we can try to wean him off of one of his meds and see how he does.  I cannot even begin to describe the kind of fear I was feeling.  I have never seen my husband cry like that.  I was so scared that I would have to go home and explain to my other children that Matthew was not with us anymore.  I felt so helpless, but Christian friends and family here and far away rallied together and prayed and the Lord was with us.  Our sweet baby is growing and healthy.  I am amazed at God’s goodness to us, that we have 5 beautiful, precious, healthy, happy children.  We pray that God would give us wisdom to parent them with His love and nurture and that He would use their lives to bring glory to His wonderful name.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction so that we will be able to comfort those who are in any affliction with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” 2 Cor. 1:3-4

 

One Response to “Our Sweet Matthew”

  1. Kelly H. Says:

    Kate,
    We will continue to pray for Matthew and the whole family during this time. I know that God will take care of you no matter what. I pray for peace for you and that little Matthew would be miraculously healed!


Leave a Reply

