Katie J's Journal

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Crazy Times January 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — The McKinney Family @ 5:37 pm

Whew.   I love Christmas, but it sure it a busy time!  We had a wonderful Christmas celebrating the birth of Christ with our family.  We were especially thankful that we were able to stay home and have a relaxing day on Christmas day, instead of running around from house to house visiting people.  So much has been going on that I’m not sure to start.  I’ll just start writing- things may be out of order, though…

I think I already posted that we finalized our Sarah’s adoption on December 14th.  Saturday afternoon we were able to celebrate that adoption with our friends and (some of) our family.  (Aunt Whitney and the rest of the Ramseys, of course, couldn’t be there :(.  We won’t be so far apart for long, though!  More on that later…)  We had an ice cream sundae party (yes, it was a very cold day for that!) that was pinky/princessy/heart themed.  Worked out very well with all the Valentine’s stuff already out in stores :).  We had ice cream with tons of toppings and a craft for the children to do.  I was amazed that Gabi sat for over an hour painting her heart.  She loved it!  It was so nice to be able to chat with old friends and new, especially my friend from college, Leigh, who I had not seen in several years.  We asked for books to donate to the foster children in lieu of gifts.  I was so excited that we got so many good books to give out!

I have been “seriously” trying to lose this baby weight (and more) since the week before New Year’s.  I was doing great and had lost 8 pounds, until James went back to work after a long weekend.  I guess the stress threw me off because it’s so much easier having small children when you have help :).  I gained almost all of what I had lost back and am now working on losing those same pounds again.  Why do I do this to myself?  I really need to exercise, but I can’t afford the gym (and probably wouldn’t go if I could) and it’s too cold to walk outside early in the morning or late at night when James is home.  I found a DVD online that you can do with your children, so I’m saving to get that.  It might even help fill some moments in the day when everyone wants mommy and there’s only one of me to divvy up.

Well, I’ve been working on this post on and off for 3 hours now.  Let’s see… for the past year or so James has been telling me that he feels called to ministry.  I kept telling him, “No you’re not.”  (I know, I’m such a supportive and submissive wife :/. )  I just know that ministry is hard and I would never want to be a minister’s wife, nor do I feel prepared for it.  After some events in December, I finally said, “Okay.”  Since then, life has been kind of a whirlwind.  James has applied to go to seminary at Southwestern in Fort Worth, Texas, for several reasons.  One is that they have a lot of support for the wives and families of seminary students in what is a tough time.  (Having Daddy work full-time and go to school full-time will mean hard work for us all!)  Also, it’s only about 5 hours away from my sister, who lives in San Antonio.  It’ll be so nice to be close enough for weekend visits and to get to know my niece and nephew better.  Once he gets accepted, we’ll apply for family housing.  Hopefully we’ll get a house as opposed to an apartment or duplex.  (We’ve lived in both before and let’s just say I feel sorry for the family that lives beside/under/below us if we’re in a shared living space!  We try to use inside voices and inside feet, but anytime you have 2 preschooler, 2 toddler, and a baby, you have noise.  It’s inevitable.  Please be praying for these things, as well as that James would get a job that allows him the flexibility to go to school and also has family health insurance.

The children- Gabi is 3 1/2 and is a mess as always.  She’s very bright, but also very “into things,” which causes a lot of stress for Mommy.  She knows almost all of her letters and their sounds.  (Don’t be proud of me- it’s thanks to leapfrog, not mommy :).)  Sarah is 2 1/2 and is a ball of fire.  She can be sweet as a kitten at times, and fiesty as a tiger.  It’ll be interesting to see how her personality develops.  Evan will be 2 in a month and is getting his own ideas about the world.  His vocabulary is improving and he recently added the word “no.”  Fun times.  He hates to be reprimanded and breaks into tears when he needs to be.  Naaman is a little over a year and is such a snuggly-boy.  When I hold him he’s lays his head on my shoulder and pats my back.  We’re still waiting to hear about what the future holds for him.  Waiting is the hardest… Matthew is about 2 1/2 months and is starting to develop his personality.  He smiles and coos and wants to be up and watching the action.  It won’t be long until he’s a part of the action!

Those are the major things going on right now.  I miss my blog friends (especially you, Rebecca) but blogging is on the very end of my to-do list.  Speaking of which, I need to clean the table and sweep the floor before the timer goes off signaling nap time.  Love you all!

 

One Response to “Crazy Times”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    Hey there! I have so not been on the computer much at all! Just lately stopping in a little more. Thought I would mosey over to your blog and find out how you are doing. 🙂

    I see you are busy too. How is little Matthew and the rest of your sweet bunch? I hope you are surviving the winter. We are ready for Spring here, I tell ya. Kids need to go outside!

    Well, just thought I would say hi. Hope you have a great day!

    Love,
    Rebecca


Leave a Reply

