Katie J's Journal

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What I like about you… January 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — The McKinney Family @ 9:52 pm

Okay, so I’ve been thinking that I need to post a new blog- it’s just that things happen so quickly here that, by the time I write about them, 10 more things have happened that I want to write about.  So instead of writing about something that has happened this time, I’m going to write about someones.  To be specific, my someones: my family.  Since this blog is a way to record memories for myself, I thought it’d be nice to remember a little of what we’re all like at this moment in our family’s life.  Starting with the littlest:

Matthew: I tell ya, one day you’re going to see Matthew and he’s gonna have big chunks taken out of his cheeks. If you could die from getting kissed too much, he would.  He has the softest, chubbiest, roundest little cheeks. I feel such a strong bond to him. I’ve decided that it’s because we almost lost him.  Somehow, seeing your baby in the balance between life and death just makes their life that much more precious. Right now, Matthew is 3 months old. I have to admit, he’s kind of spoiled.  Okay- a lot spoiled. He loves to be held and I love to hold him. He is happy and content for most the day, but around 1 o’clock, it’s like his internal clock tell him that it’s nap time with mommy. If something happens and I don’t get to lay down with him, he’s fussy and won’t take a nap.  (See, I told you. Spoiled.) He eats 4 ounces every 3 hours, except in the evening.  Around 6 or 7 he wants an extra ounce or 2, then he’ll sleep ’til 12 or so.  Yep, it’s nice. He’s smiling and cooing and I love how he concentrates on my face while he’s “talking” to me. Oh, and he’s so funny when he’s really hungry.  He has this “mad” cry. The cute thing is that, when I put his bottle in his mouth, he lets out one more really mad-sounding cry as if to say, “How dare you make me wait!”  It’s adorable.  He’s the first of my babies to sleep on his back, which is good for SIDS, but bad for looks.  It also makes him the first baby of mine to have a little bald spot on the back of his head. Not pretty, but worth it if it keeps him safe.

Naaman: Naaman is our little cuddle-bug. If you hold him, he’ll put his head down on your shoulder and pay your back.  He also likes to give you kisses and copy everything you do, like blinking your eyes or clicking your tongue.  At 14 months he’s still not walking, though I believe he could if he wanted to. He’s just content to crawl, and that’s fine with us. (Studies show that if babies skip the crawling stage, their brain misses out on some important development that will later help them to be better readers…I don’t know if it’s true, but it can’t hurt.)  He loves the bath and splashing water… if he ever gets into the bathroom, you can be sure to find him in the toilet- and that’s why we make sure he doesn’t get in!  He’s got the longest eyelashes and, when he smiles, his eyes crinkle up and you could just squeeze him. And he LOVES to eat!  He pretty much only fusses when he’s hungry or tired.  Except for one other thing: this boy loves his cup! He will fuss and scream for a cup of water or very watered-down juice. (He used to like formula, but he’s not too hip on milk.)  I promise you sometimes we check his back to see if he’s grown a camel hump.  He likes to play patty-cake and “My Lord and My Lady” and any other lap games.  He brings such joy to our family!

Evan: On any given day, you could visit our house and find Evan running around in only a diaper with duct-tape securing it. Yes, he’s discovered how to undress himself and take off his diaper and delights in doing so. If you’re REALLY lucky, you’ll find him in a pink fuzzy hat, a duct-taped diaper, pink suede boots, and a purse thrown over his shoulder. He has a shoe fetish and he particularly likes to wear anything that is his sisters’. Yes, James is a little worried. You can pray for this if you’d like :). Evan has a blankie that he loves- every once in a while I’ll forget to get his blankie out of his bed in the morning and, later in the day, I’ll find him crying in front of his bedroom door. We retrieve the forgotten blankie, and he grabs it with his fingers while his thumb goes in his mouth. He comes to me every 45 minutes or so throughout the day for a quick cuddle mommy, hold blankie, suck the thumb moment, then he’s down and playing again.  Lately he’s really started to play with the girls, as opposed to just playing beside them. Evan has a little scar on the back of his head where no hair grows from an IV he had when he was in the NICU. Though I hate that he has a scar, it’s a constant reminder to us of what a blessing and miracle he is.

Sarah: And we thought she would be the calm one… boy were we wrong! This is our little firecracker- very clever but has the attitude of a 13-year-old. She loves to boss the boys around, but also loves to take care of them. She and her lambie are quite the team. We stayed in Greenville with some friends one weekend and left Lambie at their church- big mistake! Thankfully, they were able to bring her to us a couple of days later. Whew! When I tell Sarah that Lambie needs a bath because he stinks, she says, “No, he not need a bath; he clean. He smell gooood.” So stinkin’ cute! Sarah has the most beautiful curly hair- she hates to have it combed out, but she’s getting better about letting me do it. She’s very organized, she’ll spend an hour lining all of our shoes or the trains or other toys in a row, only to turn around and line them up somewhere else. She just recently potty-trained herself, except for poop. When she needs to poop, she’ll bring me a diaper to put on her.  We’ve tried and tried to get her to go on the potty, but she hurts herself holding it in. We’ve just decided to give her time- eventually she’ll go on her own.

Gabi:  How do you solve a problem like Gabi? How do you catch a cloud and pin it down? Yep, that’s our Gabi. Precious, sweet, caring, helpful, wild, fun, crazy, active, creative… the list could go on and on. In some ways, Gabi has matured quite a bit in the last few weeks. She’s more helpful- when she wants to be- and is able to do more things. She’s been really helping me with laundry; she particularly likes to put things on hangers. (I’ve had to get over the fact that my color-coding is not being kept in order- she wants one of her shirts on one of Sarah’s pink hanger because the shirt is pink and “matches” the hanger- never mind the fact that her color hanger is purple…) And she’ll argue me to the death that her way is right :). At least they’re hung up, right? She gets excited over little things and captures us all up in her joy. And she gets into EVERYTHING. There is absolutely no baby-proofing that is Gabi-proof. She can climb to the top of the fridge to get gum and hoist herself up on the sink to “wash dishes.” (Which means rewashing the ones I’ve already washed so that I have to wash them again. :)) She’s a mess, but we love her to bits and can’t imagine life without her. (It’d be peaceful, yes, but so boring!)

James: As I’ve already told you, James has felt for some time that the Lord would have him go into some sort of ministry. He has applied to Southwestern in Fort Worth, Texas and been accepted.  He’s currently looking for jobs and we plan on moving sometime in July. We’re excited to see what the Lord has for our family, but sad to be moving away from our extended families. (But we’ll be closer to my sister and her precious family, so it kind of evens out!) Lately he’s been busy just working and keeping our family in order (sort of.) We’ve started going to the gym and he goes early in the morning and keeps the kids in the evening so I can go. He’s my hero and always will be :).

Me: I’m just me. Busy trying to keep up with my house and kiddos, but always feeling behind. I’ve always been a voracious reader, but haven’t had time to really read lately. I find myself reading silly information on the side of the cereal boxes or toothpaste tube, I think in an attempt to appease that side of me. Pathetic, I know. Most of all I’m just grateful to feel so well after feeling so tired and achy during my pregnancy with Matthew. I can’t get over being thankful to just feel good. James and I are working hard to lose weight and get healthy, and I have to admit that I’m looking forward to shopping for new (or used) clothes and feeling good about myself in them.

Well, that’s it. It took me 2 days and lots of 5-minute blocks to write this, but it’s done and I’ll be able to remember a little bit about this time in our life. As long as I remember that it’s crazy and busy, I’ll have the jest of it down. 🙂 Hope everyone else is doing well and looking forward to spring!

 

2 Responses to “What I like about you…”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    I loved reading this post Kate! Fun to hear about all your sweet little ones and yourself. 🙂 Hope you have a great week!


Leave a Reply

