Katie J's Journal

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Simpler Times… February 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — The McKinney Family @ 2:45 pm

My girls have been fascinated with watching “Little House on the Prairie” episodes lately. Gabi thinks she’s Mary and Sarah is Laura. They call James “Pa” and me “Ma.” Yesterday Gabi even told James that his middle name is Charles Ingalls. 🙂 Sooo precious. At dinner last night, Gabi asked, “How many old is Mary?” I said, “Probably about 11.” She said, “Well, this Mary is 11, too.” (referring to herself) In fact, they love it so much that my mom bought them Season 2 on DVD yesterday. (Less than $15 at Wal-Mart- a bargain, for sure.) When I told Gabi that Lollie was bringing her 6 new Laura’s, she said, “OH! She’s a good girl!” Anyhow, watching all these episodes with them have made me long for a simpler time. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely appreciate modern conveniences such as running water, electricity, and indoor plumbing. I can’t imagine having to wash clothes by hand, hitch up a buggy to go somewhere, or make all our food from scratch. I guess I just wish there was a happy medium. I mean, why does it have to be that, with modern conveniences, comes busyness? Why can’t we live in small houses that are “just enough,” eat food that is homegrown and healthy (that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg at the store because it’s labeled “organic”) and observe Sunday as a true day of rest, instead of a day spent rushing from home to church and back again, only to hurry through lunch, get the kids down for nap, and begin getting ready for the week ahead? What if TV wasn’t an option to distract us from our families and unhealthy, processed food wasn’t there to tempt us into obesity? I realize, as I type this, that we will never truly be able to go back to the way it was. However, I wonder what I might do different as a wife and mother to make life less complicated for my family. As we get ready to make a big move this summer, I have to admit that I’m sad at the thought of leaving our wonderful home with hardwood floors, a playroom, and a huge kitchen and dining room. It makes me nervous to think about living in a tiny apartment with all of these little people around my feet. I’m trying to look at is as a blessing, though. As we go through our “stuff” and try to separate what we need from what is unnecessary, I hope that our life will get a little simpler, even as it gets busier with James in school and working full-time. And, though I’m frightened at the thought of being a minister or missionary’s wife for many reasons, I wonder if it might bring some simplicity into our lives, too. It depends very much on what the Lord calls James to do. I do know that the missionaries I worked with in Romania were a couple with 2 small children that spent almost every day serving the Lord together. Do I dare hope for something similar for us? Might the Lord call James to something that would not only minister to others, but to his family as well? I don’t know; I’m just wondering, and hoping. Have any of you had thoughts that were similar? Have you found ways to simplify life for your family? I’m afraid to tell you that this is probably not the last you will hear from me on this subject because it’s one that is constantly bubbling around in my mind. But, for now, have a wonderful, peaceful day with your families. Love you all!

 

4 Responses to “Simpler Times…”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Hmmm…you never know. Some might just show up in the mail. I would love to take pictures of your sweet family! Just let me know when 🙂

  2. Rebecca Says:

    I share your love for Little House. I checked out the audio series from the library. The narrator has the perfect voice and there is some fiddle music in between stories. Might be fun to listen to it with your girls. It’s published by Harper Audio. I’ve listened to the series a couple of times and want to again! My kids liked listening also. I am with you and wish we lived in simpler times. All we can do is simplify as far as we can and bloom where we are planted. 🙂 Thank you for your sweet message about the pics I posted. I put some up on facebook as well. I think the same thing about your beautiful bunch! Hope you have a great day!

  3. When we moved 4 years ago, to the house we presently live in, it was a tough adjustment. It was hard to be content leaving the luxuries behind, that we don’t have in this house. Things have been so different financially for us since moving & the economy has affected my husband’s work. I’ve been learning to be happy with less,to not dwell on what I don’t have, and to focus on the small things that bring pleasure to our lives. Watching the birds at our feeder, the books we get from the library and cuddle on the couch to read, a nice warm shower or bath, just the everyday things that we hardly ever pay attention to.

    Just to let you know, years back I did a unit study with my kids that utilized the Little House on the Prairie books. It was called the Prarie Primer. It was so much fun! I bet your girls would love some of the ideas in that book. Here’s a link http://www.cadroncreek.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=Pioneer_001

  4. Julie Says:

    I’ve always thought it would be cool to live back in those times…heck, even just 50 years ago. If you ever read the “Love Comes Softly Series” it will really make you want to go back in time!


Leave a Reply

