Katie J's Journal

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Super-quick update… February 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — The McKinney Family @ 2:33 pm

I have a long list of things I want to accomplish today (do I ever not have a long list of things to accomplish? :)) so this will be brief.

Last Friday we celebrated Evan’s 2nd birthday. I can’t believe that that little 3lb 9oz baby has grown into a 23lb little boy. I took the girls to the dollar store Thursday night to pick a present for him- we got a ball with a frog on it. He loved it! I don’t know which he likes better- balls or shoes. Anyhow, we were going to go shopping this weekend to get a present for him from us, but decided not to. We need to be really careful not to spend money on things that will be forgotten in a week, as well as try not to bring more clutter into our house while we’re trying to clean out to move.  Seminary is looming on the horizon- whether we move this summer or James starts out online depends on what happens with our Naaman.

In other news, I am thrilled to be going back to school! Ha ha, not really, but sort of. I’m going to take a class at the local community college called, “Sewing Basics.” I’m so excited! James bought me a sewing machine for Mother’s Day last year and I haven’t been able to use it because I’m so intimidated. I know this class won’t make me an expert seamstress, but I’m hoping it will help me gain some confidence and not be so scared to try and make mistakes. The class is 5 2-hour sessions for $89… I think it will be money well spent as I’ll be able make lots of clothes for our children and other household “pretties” that would be far more expensive at a store. And it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a long, long time. Yay!

I’m going to ask you to please be in prayer for my brother, Matt. I don’t want to divulge many details (though I may in email since it’s more private) but he’s have some major issues. In fact, “major” is a HUGE understatement. So you know how to pray, I’m not sure if he knows Christ or not. He accepted Christ when he was about 12, I think, but there hasn’t been fruit in his life for a long time. I don’t say this to be ugly or gossipy- I tell you because I love my brother so incredibly much- so much that we named our son after him. Please, please approach the throne of our Lord for him.

Well, that’s it. I hope everyone is having a wonderful week. We were thankful to have our Daddy home yesterday for President’s day. Love you all!

 

2 Responses to “Super-quick update…”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    I hope you got lots done on your list today. I am very excited for you about your sewing class. 🙂 What fun! And, I will be praying for your brother. God bless!

  2. Michelle Says:

    So excited that you’re going to take sewing class!!!!


Leave a Reply

